This post is also available in: Deutsch

In this post you can see all the Komoot maps of the 2020 Scotland trip with my e-bike and my dog Zuri.

Collection Cycling Tour with my E-Bike and Dog through Scotland 2020

https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLcxkA1Vu5WaKkmaIG4t52PGODXY54dzxX

Here is the collection of all the routes of the trip to Scotland.

Individual stages of the E-Bike Tour with my Dog Stages England 2020

STAGE LEICESTER – NOTTINGHAM (Video 1):

Zuri and I are going on another cycling trip in 2020. This time we want to discover Scotland by bike. We set off from Leicester, England. The first difficulties with cycling in England quickly become apparent. There are often beautiful cycle paths along the English canals, but they all have entry barriers that make it almost impossible to get through with a bicycle trailer.

STAGE NOTTINGHAM – SHEFFIELD (Video 2):

The second day is probably the most exhausting day of the whole trip. I reach my limits. Cycling is a habit to break, because England has the worst cycle blockades on cycle paths in the whole of Europe!

STAGE SHEFFIELD, LEEDS, YORKSHIRE DALES (Video 3):

After an incredibly exhausting day through Nottingham Forest with its many barriers, Zuri and I prepare for the worst. Once again we need local help to avoid getting stuck. But the willingness of the British to help is unstoppable. The result is beautiful shots along the English Channel and in the English woods. With a bit of traffic chaos, we arrive in Leeds and can take a break there for a few days before a private taxi, out of compassion for the barriers, takes me all the way to the Yorkshire Dales, where the worst night of thunderstorms in my life so far follows.

Individual Stages of the E-Bike Tour with Dog Stages Scotland 2020

STAGE LAKE DISTRICT (Video 4):

After a sleepless night of thunderstorms right next to a sharply rising river in the Yorkshire Dales, Emma and I head for the Lake District, the model for Lord of the Ring’s Shire and arguably the most beautiful area in England. From here, Zuri and I continue cycling towards Scotland. We cycle past beautiful lochs and cross the unexpectedly upcoming Hollister Pass. As soon as we reach Scotland, the restaurant density is abruptly curbed and there are also some other surprises waiting for us…

STAGE DUMFRIES & GALLOWAY (Video 5):

My dog Zuri and I cycle along the coast of Scotland to Dumfries. We have a short break there before we cycle on to Castle Douglas. There we meet Helen and she shows us the south coast of Dumfries & Galloway and Screel Hill. After a day’s rest, we cycle on through the Galloway Forest, past the Otter Pool and along the Raiders Road. I don’t really have the Scottish solitude in sight yet, which should lead to some minor battery charging problems…

STAGE GIRVAN, GLASGOW, LOCH LOMOND (Video 6):

Lots of exciting things await you on this stage…Lots of rain, stunning nature, incredibly helpful Scots, not so friendly restaurants, some roadblocks and animal encounters….

STAGE WEST HIGHLAND HIGHWAY (Video 7):

After a stormy night at Loch Lomond, Zuri and I continue cycling north. We cycle Cycle Route 40 along Loch Lomond and then continue on the A82, the parallel to the West Highland Way. The weather is typically Scottish and we also get a visit from the Scottish midges. We drive through Bridge or Orchy and Glencoe before taking the ferry to the Ardnamurchan Peninsula.

STAGE SUNART, MOIDART, KNOYDART (Video 8):

The Scottish rain continues to chase me and my dog Zuri through the Scottish Highlands. We cycle through the lonely Sunart, surrounded by breathtaking mountains and other forces of nature. But the rain tugs at me and I wish for nothing more than a fire to dry myself by…and who would have thought it, this dream should come true…. The next day we continue towards Mallaig, where the Hogwarts Express leaves. There we experience the next surprise before we visit the last wilderness of Scotland, the peninsula Knoydart, which is completely cut off from the road network and can only be reached by boat or on foot.

STAGE Isle of Skye (Video 9):

For me and Zuri, it’s on to the Isle of Skye. We reach the island in dreary weather, but the sky clears up and we experience the Isle of Skye in all its beauty. My new rain jacket from Vaude also reaches us, just in time, because there is one thing you can rely on in Scotland and that is the inconsistency of the weather. We fall asleep at the Fairy Pools in a starry night and wake up in a rain shower. But the Scots are once again terrific and I get an invitation to spend the rainy day with Gil. The next day we continue to the north-east of Skye. Highlights: Sligachan old bridge, Fairy Pools, Fairy Glen.

STAGE Isle of Skye to Shieldaig (Video 10):

After a dry night, Zuri and I cycle further south on the Isle of Skye in Scotland. We pass the Mealt waterfall and the Old Man of Storr. We take a short break in Portree and then continue to Broadford, where we meet Eddy, a cyclist from London. We join up and find a place to stay for the night. The next morning we cycle up the Skye Bridge and then on to the famous Eilean Donan Castle. After a little refreshment, we head for the Highlands. It gets mountainous, but the views are magnificent. Past Loch Carron to Upper Loch Torridon. The sun is shining and the Highlands are at their best!

STAGE North Coast 500 (NC500) (Video 11):

After a restful night at Upper Lake Torridon, Eddie and I continue along the North Coast 500 to Torridon. There we meet Will and Charlotte, who conquered Scotland with their tandem, in the Community Cafe. The stretch from Torridon is overcrowded with cars and it is one stop and go. Only in the evening does it get quieter again from Gairloch and we see the beautiful nature on lonely roads. The next day it gets lonely. There is not a single open café or restaurant until Ullapool. But there are all the more cyclists on the roads. I don’t know exactly how I’m going to make it to Ullapool, because it’s almost all uphill…

STAGE Ullapool to Inverness and to Finthorn (Video 12):

Our cycling journey continues in an exciting way. My dog Zuri and I leave Ullapool and the West Highlands and head towards eastern Scotland to Inverness. There we are spontaneously invited and experience great Scottish hospitality. The next day we continue along Cycle Path No 1 into Eastern Scotland. We visit Finthorn, the oldest eco-village in the UK and then continue along the Moray Coastal Cycle Path.

STAGE Sandend to Aberdeen and Dundee (Video 13):

This time it gets really exciting. We continue along Cycle Route 1 along the Scottish coast towards Aberdeen. Shortly before we reach Aberdeen, we get trapped in a construction site. It’s Friday evening 6 pm…. In the following you will see great castles like Dunottar Castle, the Newburgh Seal Beach, Slains Castle and again a lot of Scottish hospitality and encounters.

STAGE Edinburgh (Video 14):

After a very restful night at Frank and Claudia’s, it’s on to Edinburgh for me and Zuri. It is a very stormy day and cycling is not always easy. In Edinburgh we are picked up by Hanna. Before continuing along the south coast of Scotland, we stop for a day in Edinburgh to see the city where the Harry Potter books were written.

STAGE Edinburgh to the sough coast of Scotland (Video 15):

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend

This post is also available in: English

In diesem Beitrag seht ihr die gesamten Komoot Karten der Schottlandreise von 2020 mit E-Bike und meinem Hund Zuri.

Collection Fahrradreise mit E-Bike und Hund Schottland 2020

Hier die Kollektion aller Routen der Reise nach Schottland.

Einzelne Etappen der E-Bike Tour mit Hund Etappen England 2020

ETAPPE LEICESTER – NOTTINGHAM (Video 1):

Zuri und ich machen uns 2020 erneut auf Fahrradreise. Dieses Mal wollen wir mit dem Fahrrad Schottland entdecken. Los fahren wir in Leicester, England. Bereits schnell zeigen sich die ersten Schwierigkeiten beim Radfahren in England. Es gibt zwar oft wunderschöne Fahrradwege entlang der englischen Kanäle, jedoch sind diese alle mit Eintrittsbarrieren versehen, die das Durchkommenb mit Fahrradanhänger fast unmöglich machen.

ETAPPE NOTTINGHAM – SHEFFIELD (Video 2):

Der zweite Tag wird der wohl anstrengenste Tag der ganzen Reise. Ich komme an meine Grenzen. Rad fahren zum abgewöhnen, denn England hat die schlimmsten Rad Blockaden auf Radfahrwegen in ganz Europa!

ETAPPE SHEFFIELD, LEEDS, YORKSHIRE DALES (Video 3):

Nach einem unglaublich anstrengenden Tag durch den Nottingham Forest mit den vielen Barrieren machen Zuri und ich uns auf das schlimmste gefasst. Erneut benötigen wir Einheimische Hilfe, um nicht stecken zu bleiben. Doch die Hilfsbereitschaft der Briten ist ungebremst. Die Folge behinhaltet wunderschöne Aufnahmen entlang des Englischen Kanals und aus den englischen Wäldern. Mit etwas Verkehrschaos kommen wir nach Leeds und können dort erstmal ein paar Tage Pause machen bevor mich ein Privattaxi aus Mitgefühl vor den Barrieren bis zu den Yorkshire Dales bringt, wo die schlimmste Gewitternacht meines bisherigen Lebens folgt..

Einzelne Etappen der E-Bike Tour mit Hund Etappen Schottland 2020

ETAPPE LAKE DISTRICT (Video 4):

Nach einer schlaflosen Gewitternacht direkt neben einem stark steigendem Fluss in den Yorkshire Dales, fahren Emma und ich zum Lake District, das Vorbild für Herr der Ringes „Auenland“ und die wohl schönste Gegend Englands. Von hier aus machen Zuri und ich uns weiter mit dem Fahrrad Richtung Schottland. Wir fahren vorbei an wunderschönen Seen und überqueren den unerwartet kommenden Hollister Pass. Sobald wir Schottland erreichen, wird die Restaurantdichte schlagartig eingedämmt und es warten auch einige andere Überraschungen auf uns…

ETAPPE DUMFRIES & GALLOWAY (Video 5):

Mein Hund Zuri und ich fahren an der Küste Schottlands englang nach Dumfries. Dort machen wir kurz Pause bevor wir weiter nach Castle Douglas radeln. Dort treffen wir Helen und sie zeigt uns die Südküste von Dumfries & Galloway and den Screel Hill. Nach einem Tag Pause fahren wir mit dem E-Bike weiter durch den Galloway Forest, vorbei am Otter Pool und entland der Raiders Road. Ich habe die Schottische Einsamkeit noch nicht wirklich im Blick, was zu kleineren Akkuladeproblemen führen sollte..

ETAPPE GIRVAN, GLASGOW, LOCH LOMOND (Video 6):

Auf dieser Etappe erwartet euch viel spannendes…Viel Regen, atemberaubende Natur, unglaublich hilfsbereite Schotten, nicht so freundliche Restaurants, einige Wegblockaden und tierische Begegnungen..

ETAPPE WEST HIGHLAND HIGHWAY (Video 7):

Nach einer stürmischen Nacht am Loch Lomond geht es für mich und Zuri weiter mit dem Fahrrad Richtung Norden. Wir fahren die Cycle Route 40 am Loch Lomond entlang und fahren dann weiter auf der A82, die parallele zum West Highland Way. Das Wetter ist typisch schottisch und wir bekommen auch immer wieder Besuch von den schottischen Midges. Wir fahren durch die Bridge or Orchy und Glencoe bevor wir mit der Fähre auf die Ardnamurchan Peninsula (Ardnamurchan Halbinsel) übersetzen.

ETAPPE SUNART, MOIDART, KNOYDART (Video 8):

Der schottische Regen verfolgt mich und meinen Hund Zuri auch noch weiterhin durch die schottischen Highlands. Wir radeln durch das einsame Sunart, umgeben von atemberaubenden Bergen und anderen Naturgewalten. Doch der Regen zerrt an mir und ich wünsche mir nichts sehnlicher als ein Feuer, an dem ich mich trocken kann…und wer hätte es gedacht, dieser Traum sollte in Erfüllung gehen… Es geht am nächsten Tag weiter Richtung Mallaig, wo der Hogwarts Express abfährt. Dort erleben wir die nächste Überraschung bevor wir die letzte Wilderniss Schottlands besuchen die Halbinseln Knoydart, die komplett von Straßennetzt abgetrennt ist und nur per Boot oder zu Fuß erreichbar ist.

ETAPPE Insel Skye (Video 9):

Für mich und Zuri geht es weiter auf die Insel Skye. Wir erreichen die Insel bei tristem Wetter, doch der Himmel klart auf und wir erleben die Insel Skye in aller ihrer Schönheit. Uns erreicht auch meine neue Regenjacke von Vaude, gerade rechtzeitig, denn in Schottland kann man sich auf eins verlassen und das ist die Unbeständigkeit des Wetters. Wir schlafen bei den Fairy Pools ein in einer sternenklaren Nacht und wachen auf im Regenschauer. Doch die Schotten sind mal wieder grandios und ich erhalte eine Einladung den Regentag bei Gil zu verbringen. Am nächsten Tag geht es dann weiter in den Nordosten von Skye. Highlights: Sligachan old bridge, Fairy Pools, Fairy Glen.

ETAPPE Insel Skye bis Shieldaig (Video 10):

Nach einer trockenen Nacht radeln Zuri und ich weiter Richtung Süden auf der Insel Skye in Schottland. Wir kommen vorbei am Mealt Wasserfall und dem Old Man of Storr. Wir machen eine kleine Pause in Portree und dann geht es weiter nach Broadford, wo wir Eddy treffen, einen Radfahrer aus London. Wir schließen uns zusammen und suchen uns einen Platz für die Nacht. Am nächsten Morgen geht es auf die Skye Brücke und dann weiter zum berühmten Eilean Donan Castle. Nach einer kleinen Stärkung gehts dann Richtung Highlands. Es wird bergig, aber die Aussichten sind grandios. Vorbei am Loch Carron bis zum Upper Loch Torridon. Die Sonne scheint und die Highlands zeigen sich von ihrer besten Seite!

ETAPPE North Coast 500 (NC500) (Video 11):

Nach einer erholsamen Nacht am Upper Lake Torridon machen Eddie und ich uns weiter entlang der North Coast 500 nach Torridon. Dort treffen wir in dem Community Cafe Will und Charlotte, die mit ihrem Tandem Schottland eroberten. Die Strecke ab Torridon ist überfüllt mit Autos und es ist ein einziges Stop and Go. Erst abends wird es ab Gairloch wieder ruhiger und wir sehen die wunderschöne Natur auf einsamen Straßen. Am nächsten Tag wir es einsam. Es gibt bis Ullapool kein einziges offenes Cafe oder Restaurant. Dafür umso mehr Radfahrer auf den Straßen. Ich weiß nicht so genau wie ich es bis Ullapool schaffen soll, den es geht fast nur Berg auf…

ETAPPE Ullapool nach Inverness und weiter nach Finthorn (Video 12):

Unsere Fahrradreise geht spannend weiter. Mein Hund Zuri und ich verlassen Ullapool und die West Highlands und fahren Richtung Ostschottland nach Inverness. Dort werden wir spontan eingeladen und erfahren großartige schottische Gastfreundschaft. Am nächsten Tag geht es weiter entlang des Cycle Path No 1 nach Ostschottland. Wir besuchen Finthorn, das älteste Ökodorf in Großbritannien und fahren dann weiter entlang des Moray Coastal Cycle Paths.

ETAPPE Sandend nach Aberdeen bis Dundee (Video 13):

Dieses Mal wird es richtig spannend. Wir fahren den Radweg 1 weiter entlang der schottischen Küste immer Richtung Aberdeen. Kurz vor Aberdeen werden wir dann in einer Baustelle eingeschlossen. Es ist Freitag abend 18 Uhr…. In der Folge seht ihr u.a. tolle Burgen wie das Dunottar Castle, den Newburgh Seal Beach, Slains Castle und auch wieder viel schottische Gastfreundschaft und Begegnungen

ETAPPE Edinburgh (Video 14):

Nachdem ich eine sehr erholsame Nacht bei Frank und Claudia hatte, geht es für mich und Zuri weiter nach Edinburgh. Es ist ein sehr stürmischer Tag und das Fahrradfahren nicht immer einfach. In Edinburgh werden wir von Hanna aufgenommen. Bevor es weiter an der Südküste von Schottland vorbei geht, machen wir einen Tag Pause in Edinburgh und schauen uns die Stadt an, in dem die Harry Potter Bücher geschrieben wurden.

ETAPPE Edinburgh bis Südküste Schottland (Video 15):

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Send this to a friend